Aside

Daily prompt: game of groans

Think about an object, an activity, or a cultural phenomenon you really don’t like. Now write a post (tongue in cheek or not — your call!) about why it’s the best thing ever.

Ads everywhere!

I had an amazing idea! What if you could have pop-up ads, anywhere? Just imagine, you walk into a store and as soon as you get through the door a mini billboard pops up in front of you like a piece of toast from a toaster, telling you about something you might be [but almost certainly are completely un-] interested in. Wouldn’t that be great?

But then why stop there? How about turning every surface into potential advertising space? I love having my view cluttered by loads of adverts and my attention broken by flashing, animated, jumping, sliding, fading, talking, singing adverts! It’s the best part of my day. It would be just totally amazeballs if I could have more of this where I happen to be! Working at my desk? An ad can slide across it’s surface and block me from typing until I interact with it in some way! Opening the fridge? An ad could slide out for a takeaway or a special supermarket deal! Going to bed? An ad could be projected onto the ceiling! Awesome!

I think this would be incredible…

10 thoughts on “Daily prompt: game of groans

  1. sarcastic goodness! and, it still scares the *carp out of me every time I’m absorbed in an article when suddenly the screen fades and I’m asked to subscribe. Or, Yahoo anything – ready to click on something when the entire screen is taken over by an ad. Is it because billions of dorks actually like, want, and react to this type of abuse, or that the makers of these ads have no clue?

    • Yea, it can be really jarring the way some of these ads intrude. I don’t think it’s about people wanting the ads in the faces, I think it’s about advertisers wanting to get products/services in front of potential consumers any way possible!

      Browser plugins like Ad-Blocker help, but I think the way advertising is done in general is due for an overhaul.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment