A great day for cookies

When I was young I hated baking. Why? Because why can’t I eat it already? That’s why. I wasn’t interested in the baking, just the eating.

Years later and I’ve developed a greater appreciation for the baking process. Two things have helped with that:

  1. I’ve cultivated a necessary level of patience that, balanced with the right level of enthusiasm and anticipation, creates the perfect amount of excitement.
  2. I’ve since realised that the eating can actually take place during the baking.

Yesterday morning I made a fresh batch of epicly chocolatey double chocolate chip cookies for a friend’s birthday barbecue. The recipe isn’t mine, so I can only take so much credit. But I deserve some, because I baked them. And they were awesome. Yes, that was my own horn I just tooted.

Cookies and other goodies

love baking. And, fortunately, I have just enough self-control to prevent myself eating all the batter before the sweet treats go in the oven, so people actually get to enjoy my baked wares. Awesomer.

A friend enjoying a double chocolate chip cookie

BTW: Did you know it was National Chocolate Chip Day on May 15th here in the UK?

2 thoughts on “A great day for cookies

  1. James Appiah AKA Stampie Major says:

    This Cookie was actually the best i have ever tasted. You can toot your own horn on this one because you bake amazing cookies… Well Done, it takes a lot of skill to perfect the cookie, and i must say, you did absolutely that…. Mastered it i mean :). Cannot wait to have more.

    • Ah well, a lot of love went into those cookies — love of chocolate! And the general kind too. Glad you enjoyed them! But how on earth do I top them??

Leave a Reply

